Exploring T.S. Eliot

[To homepage]

The Four Quartets side by side

The poems that comprise T.S. Eliot's The Four Quartets ("Burnt Norton," "East Coker," "Dry Salvages," and "Little Gidding") have much in common. One way of reading them is to compare the corresponding parts of each. To do so the old fashioned way required flipping a number of pages or spreading copies of the poems across a table top. The new method involves placing each of the poems in their own seperate frame of a web brower and allowing the reader to scroll through them as needed. The link below is such a framed presentation.

View The Four Quartets side by side.

Special notes:

  1. The webpages that present a framing of the poems reside on this website but they allow viewing of webpages at another website. These are the pages that contain the text of the poems
  2. I do not know whether the owners of that site have secured copyright permission for their presentation of the poems.
  3. Because the webpages with the poems are on another website their content might change without notice or they may be removed.
  4. The website that has the copies of the poems has an introductory webpage with a linked table of contents. Use that page to view the poems without frames. The URL is: http://www.davidgorman.com/4Quartets/